top of page
Search
  • mormonchats

2 Corinthians 11:4 Another Jesus?

Now chatting with: Christine and Nancy

Christine 4:41 PM

Hi Blake! What brought you to chat today?


Blake 4:42 PM

I was reading 2 Corinthians 11:4. What does Paul mean by another Jesus?


Nancy4:44 PM

That is a great question. It means false prophets or false Christs. :)


Blake 4:48 PM

What is a false prophet?


Christine 4:49 PM

They teach false doctrine and lead people away from Christ. In the scriptures, we are taught that we shall know them by their fruits. In other words, we know them by their actions and results. False prophets lead us away from Jesus Christ and do not produce good fruits.

I am so sorry, but we have to get offline now. Please feel free to come back onto chat if you have more questions. Thank you!


Now chatting with: Skylee


Skylee5:07 PM

Hi Blake, how are you today?


Blake5:09 PM

I am well. A missionary was chatting with me but she had to go. She said that another Jesus is a false prophet with bad fruits. Is that correct?


Skylee5:12 PM

We believe in One Jesus, who is our Savior who is perfect. All of His fruit is good.


Blake5:14 PM

2 Corithians warns of another Jesus. The missionary said this refers to false prophets whose fruits are not good. So prophets like Pat Roberston, The Pope, and the Dalai Lama are true propehts because their fruits are good?


Skylee5:15 PM

True Prophets are who God declares. But, bad fruits doesnt mean they are bad people


Skylee5:16 PM

But I sadly too have to go, I wish we were given longer. I hope you have a great day.

The chat session has ended.


Now chatting with: Aira and Kourtney


Kourtney

Hey Blake, this is Kourtney. How can I help you?


Blake

2 Corithians 11:4 speaks of another Jesus. Another missionary explained that this refers to false prophets with fruits that are not good. Given Pat Robertson, the Pope, and the Dalai Lama all have good fruits then they are true prophets?


Kourtney

Thank you for your question. I appreciate it! I am not quite familiar with some of those people. Can I ask you the question of how do you think we can distinguish between good or bad fruits?


Blake

I asked the missionaries that question also, but they would not tell me. I asked them for an example of bad fruits and they hung up on me. So unless you can answer, I must assume they do not have bad fruits and are therefore true prophets.


Kourtney

I am not quite sure who they are, but depends on the things they teach and do. To you, what is the difference between good and bad fruits?


Blake

That is what I am asking. So you don't know the answer? If you don't know the answer, then why do missionaries say false prophets do not have good fruits?


Kourtney

I know the answer for myself. I am just asking what it means to you


Blake

Why don't you just tell me?


Kourtney

Because I want to understand you better:)


Blake

So you refuse to say?


Kourtney

I refuse what?


Blake

I never made an assertion about bad fruits, the missionaries did. You are refusing to tell me what bad fruits are or give me an example.


Kourtney

Oh not at all! I think that bad fruits are anything that is contrary to Jesus Christ and his teachings. What do you think they are?


Blake

That sounds about right. So Pat Robertson, Joel Olsteen, etc are true prophets!


Kourtney

Im not sure who those people are, but the main difference is that we believe that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is the only church that has the fulness of the gospel and the proper power given from God.


Blake

So you believe other prophets are teaching things contrary to Jesus Christ? So all others are false prophets? So your religion is the only Christian religion not preaching another Jesus?


Kourtney

Other people can be good and testify truths, however, we know that there is only one person that is authorized with power from God to be the prophet. Of course, we can all testify of Jesus Christ!


Blake

But they teach Jesus gave them the priesthood and you say that is a lie.


Kourtney

We do believe that Jesus gave the priesthood to his authorized servants.


Blake

So you are clearly saying they are false prophets, but you are refusing to say it directly, trying to pretend you are not saying it. Why?


[There were long pause with each of Kourtney's respones ... Chat hung without response]

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mainstream Christianity?

Now chatting with: Rebekah and Wen Rebekah12:32 PM Hi Jess! I am Rebekah! How can I help? Jess12:34 PM Hi. I was chatting with a Mormon missionary and he said that Mormons are Christians, but also spo

What Is Sin?

Now chatting with: Abbie and Mena Abbie9:02 PM Hi Pamela! How can we help you today? Pamela9:03 PM What is sin? Abbie9:03 PM That's a good question :) Sin is anything we do that goes contrary to the c

Can God Give Priesthood To Whoever He Wishes?

Now chatting with: Calee and Kaylie Kaylie8:02 PM Hi Brooke! My name is Kaylie nice to meet you :) How can I help you today? Brooke8:03 PM Is there an example in the Bible of an angel giving someone p

bottom of page